Masterminding – A Short Session – More on Context

Three of us met yesterday – as the holiday travel winnowed our group.  I’ve written elsewhere on its impact and I see I’m not complete with the topic.

The coaching given to me was essentially this:  Please be clear on what you’re up to; I hear your requests for coaching, but I’m not sure how to listen to you.  What are you up to?

Very provocative – “I don’t know how to listen to you”  I don’t think we think of that very often – that how we speak conditions how we’re heard.  So how can I speak in a way that creates the way I want to be heard?  This is particularly pertinent because I think my main issue is mastering the three kinds of attention:  getting attention, keeping it, having people act on it.  And I see that what comes first is communicating so that you’ll hear the way I want you to hear.

So before I say that, I need to create the context for my words.  Okay, I’ve told you my context, the ‘why’ I speak, the ‘background conversation.’  Is that enough?  Yes, it is – but will you remember it tomorrow?  How about tomorrow’s new listeners?  Do I have to continue to create context?  Yes!!

So – one of my initial projects for 2008 is to reinvent my signature line.  Here’s how I want to be listened to:  What I’m about is having a world of spiritual fulfillment, social justice in a sustainable environment.  And what I do is support people to achieve these things in their own lives and the lives of their communities.  So I ask you – how would you invent a signature that speaks that?

Leave a Reply

