Crossing the Line

In many ways my training has jaded me – well, all of us, though each in our own way.  By jaded, I mean we can’t understand how some things are not in the consciousness of someone else.

Can you imagine someone not knowing the times table?  Lots of people can’t imagine someone not knowing how to change a tire or boil an egg; we’re all guilty of being jaded, somewhere in our lives.

In my case coaching has made so many notions second nature to me that they are like the times table.  Though, come to think of it,even now I have to think twice about 7×9.  And I realize that being jaded is not inherent, that I’ve been trained and continue to be trained.  So from time to time I will cross the line here and write about coaching. 

The other night was the last session of my current free coaching teleseminar.  This is an extraordinary introduction to coaching.  All coaches (do or should) give you a free introductory session.  I give a free 6-session teleseminar, called Successful Relationships.  Next one starts February 18th [7:30 – 8:30 Eastern]; you can sign up or find out more by emailing Michael Lipp [michael@michaellipp.com]

So – the other night we were speaking about asking for what you want or need.  We went ‘over the lines,’ speaking about both negotiating and dealing with getting complete with people in your life.

These are really deep topics and I’ll come back to them in future blogs.  The main issues are why do we stop ourselves?  Do we ever look at the possible costs versus the possible benefits?  And most of us do not know that there’s a huge difference between being complete and being over.  ‘nuff said for now.

I tell you that these questions of completeness and negotiation are really consistent with my commitments for having us all have spiritual fulfillment, social justice and environmental sustainability.

Leave a Reply

